This committee works to support Family Engagement in Iowa and provides best practice examples and strategies that are shared out. Committee members attend the regularly scheduled webinars by the Family Engagement Provider for the U.S. Department of Education’s Family Engagement Initiative and share Iowa examples. Recently, the Family Engagement Committee has been updating their best practices and writing a guide on hosting family nights.

Additional Support for this committee: U.S. Department of Education-sponsored webinars and conference calls on Family Engagement; IAA (can provide login information for Adobe Connect webinars);

Committee Best Practices Handouts







2017-2018 Meeting Dates:

Fourth Wednesday of every other month starting June 22, 2016.
All meetings are 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. over conference call.
  • February 28, 2018
  • April 25, 2018
  • June 27, 2018

The conference call number is 1-515-604-9985, passcode 123766. This number will remain the same for each committee meeting.


Meeting Agendas and Notes:

January 24, 2018

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

October 25, 2017

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

September 21, 2017

Meeting Agenda:




Members and Contact Information:

Committee Chair:

Barb Winters-Kelly, Allamakee Community School District,bwinters@allamakee.k12.ia.us

Committee Members:

Kelsie Tillery, Clinton Community Schools, ktillery@clintonia.org
Sabrina Witt, Clinton Community Schools, switt@clintonia.org
Brad Buckley, Des Moines Public Schools, Bradley.buckley@dmschools.org
Christine Carlson, Storm Lake Tornado Learning Club, ccarlson@slcsd.org
Nikki Clausen, Franklin, Longfellow, and Rue Elementary Schools, nclausen@cbcsd.org
Melanie Dill, St. Mark Youth Enrichment, Dubuque, mdill@smccdbq.org
Shaney Ford, Davenport Schools, fordsh@davenportschools.org
Sam Graeve, Audubon Community Schools, sgraeve@audubon.k12.ia.us
Chrystal Hall, Young Parents Network, chall@youngparentsnetwork.org
Melissa Knepp, Davenport Schools, kneppm@davenportschools.org
Amy McDonough
Pashion Muhammad, Des Moines Public Schools, pashion.muhammad@dmschools.org
Johnny Nash, Beyond the Bell, Sioux City, jnash@beyondthebell.us.com
Jaquanda Franklin, Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, jaquanda-franklin@ncjc.org
Linda Ramig, Des Moines Public Schools, linda.ramig@dmschools.org
Melanie Seier, St. Mark Youth Enrichment, mseier@stmarkyouthenrichment.org
Bobbie Jo Sheridan, Des Moines Public Schools, bobbie.sheridan@dmschools.org
Julia Shull, Hamburg Community School District, jshull@hamburgcsd.org
John Spinks, Oakridge Neighborhood Services, jspinks@oakridgeneighborhood.org
Emma Thompson, Tanager Place/YouthPort, ethompson@tanagerplace.org
Emily Waters
Mike Wells, Hamburg Community Schools, mwells@hamburgcsd.org
Melissa Williams, Des Moines Public Schools, Melissa.williams@dmschools.org
Danielle Willis, St. Mark Youth Enrichment, dwillis@stmarkyouthenrichment.org
Tess Ware, Boys and Girls Clubs of the Cedar Valley, Tess@cedarvalleyclubs.org


IAA Staff Contact:

Michelle Rich, mrich@sppg.com



Past Meetings:


March 15, 2017

Meeting Notes:

January 25, 2017

Meeting Agenda:

September 22, 2016

Meeting Agenda:

Meeting Notes:

August 24, 2016

Meeting Agenda:

Meeting Notes:

June 22, 2016

Meeting Agenda:

Meeting Notes:

April 29, 2016

The committee met briefly on April 29, 2016 to discuss upcoming meeting dates and protocols.

February 24, 2016 - has been rescheduled to April 27, 2016


December 11, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

September 25, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

August 26, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

June 24, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes: