This committee keeps current with 21CCLC activities and best practice examples occurring across the state and communicates examples of high quality afterschool programming on a regular basis. Use of social media is encouraged to facilitate the work of this committee. Another role for communication is to communicate with potential partners for afterschool (local, regional and statewide). Recently the Communication Committee has been looking at how to better communication local evaluation results, reviewing examples of good communication practices, and developing a marketing plan to share testimonials and stories to the general public.

Additional Support for this committee: IAA (can provide login information for Adobe Connect webinars and assistance with the development of communication methods); Example: http://www.centerfornonprofitexcellence.org/resources/communications-marketing.




2017-2018 Meeting Dates:

Third Wednesday of every other month starting June 15, 2016.
All meetings are 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. over conference call.
  • June 21, 2017
  • August 16, 2017
  • October 18, 2017
  • December 20, 2017
  • February 21, 2018
  • April 18, 2018
  • June 20, 2018

The conference call number is 1-515-604-9985, passcode 123766. This number will remain the same for each committee meeting.

Meeting Agendas and Notes:




Members and Contact Information:

Committee Co-Chairs:

Beth Malicki, Kids On Course, BMalicki@kidsoncoursecr.com

Committee Members:

Beth McGorry, St. Mark Youth Enrichment, bmcgorry@smccdbq.org
Caroline Olson, Bettendorf Community School District, colson@bettendorf.k12.ia.us
Christine Carlson, Storm Lake Tornado Learning Club, ccarlson@slcsd.org
Chuck Rowe, Cedar Valley Clubs, Waterloo, chuck@cedarvalleyclubs.org
Greg Smith, Kids & Company, Council Bluffs, gsmith2@cb-cef.org
Sandy Day, Council Bluffs School District, sday@cbcsd.org
Peter Bonifas, Andrew Community School District, peter.bonifas@andrew.k12.ia.us
Brandi Miller, Des Moines Public Schools, brandi.miller@dmschools.org
Matt Ohman, SHIP, Sioux City, mohman@siouxlandship.org
Erik Nelson, Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, erik-nelson@ncjc.org
Mel Hostetler, Iowa City Community Schools, Hostetler.Mel@iowacityschools.org
Nicole Raley, Beyond the Bell, Sioux City, nraley@beyondthebell.us.com
Bobbie Jo Sheridan, Des Moines Public Schools, bobbie.sheridan@dmschools.org
Abby Kempema, Beyond the Bells, Sioux City, akempema@beyondthebell.us.com
Julia Hartnett, Council Bluffs Community Schools, jhartnett@cbcsd.org
Elana Zalar, Countil Bluffs Community Schools, ezalar@cbcsd.org
Jeremiah Tuhn, Des Moines Public Schools, jeremiah.tuhn@dmschools.org
Kelsi Burnett, Des Moines Public Schools, Kelsi.burnett@dmschools.org
Aileen Hunnell, Des Moines Schools, aileen.hunnel@dmschools.org
Georgia Beeman, Des Moines Schools, Georgia.beeman@dmschools.org
Shaney Ford, Davenport Schools, fordsh@davenportschools.org
Melissa Knepp, Davenport Schools, kneppm@davenportschools.org

IAA Staff Contact:

Bri Steirer bsteirer@sppg.com




Past Meetings:

September 22, 2016
Meeting Notes:
Teacher Survey:

June 15, 2016

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

April 20, 2016

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

February 17, 2016

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

December 16, 2015

Meeting Agenda:

Meeting Notes:

October 21, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

September 1, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes:

June 17, 2015

Meeting Agenda:
Meeting Notes: